October 4, 2007


  • So... I finally took a long needed vacation to Taiwan and visit relatives. Been meaning to post pics, but there are just so many of them, I didn't know how to categorize them! Let's start with FOOD! We ate a lot lot lot lot of yummy food. Breakfast, 1st lunch, 2nd lunch, pre dinner, dinner, and xiow yeh (late night snacks... sorry my ping ying sucks). My kind of eating schedule! :)

    Being jetlagged was pretty fun as we could catch breakfast each morning at 5:30am. I love love these morning sandwiches with the crusts taken off, the bread super soft, and with yummy fried egg. This pic is with scallops. My favorite, however would be the lo song (shredded beef) one. (In taiwanese that would be Ba-Soh) Price: $0.80. Not pulling your leg. honest!

    DSC_0028

    And after washing these sandwiches down with yummy hot milk tea (price: $0.50), we'd fill up with a small bowl of yio fan (oil/sticky rice) and gon wan tan (meatball soup). The lady started wondering why we came every morning at 6am. I told her how we'd be leaving in a couple days and we wanted our fill of her YUMMY food. Price check for bowl of rice and soup... 2 bucks, my friend.

    DSC_0030

    DSC_0029

    For lunch, how about some super tasty oh-a-mee-suah (oyster vermicelli soup). I wish I could take this lady at this stand home. I could eat this every day. Price for large bowl: $2.

    DSC_0005

    DSC_0026

    And why not have some snacks on the way home. Here are some japanese squid puffs made right in front of you to take home. $2

    DSC_0014

    DSC_0020

    For dinner, let's have some Shabu Shabu... taiwanese style (Huo Guo) about $6

    P1030672

    DSC_0140

    And what do you wash Huo Guo down with? Taiwan Beer of course!

    P1030710

    Dessert anyone? yummy tzuah bing. Shaved ice with toppings galore!

    DSC_0110

    And after a full day of walking around eating, shopping, eating, shopping.... why not have some late night appetizers at the night market. At this stand, you pick your poison and have them grill it for you. Basically couple cents each stick. So cheap and so GOOD. *drool*

    P1030618

    Ok... I miss Taiwan. I'll post more pics from my trip soon. :)

Comments (8)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories