November 6, 2006


  • I wrote this four months ago when my doggie passed away and after reading Lan's post, I've been inspired to share it once more.

    We forget how fragile life really is. We wait for Thanksgiving to give
    thanks. Christmas to give gifts. Birthdays to celebrate a life. The
    simple truth is it's easy to succumb to the monotony of our lives,
    allowing routine to cloud our judgement of what's truly dear to us --
    time spent with the ones you love. Whether it be family or friends...
    or a certain cuddly pet, every moment should be treasured. The absence
    of one in your life shatters the routine and you're left with holding
    dearly onto memories of what once was.


    Life is fragile. I suggest that everyone go on a hugging spree. :)



    Thanks to Lan (Sup007) for sharing this video below with his subbers. And now, I share it with all of you.

    This
    is a touching story of a man, Juan Mann who's quest was to show the
    world how something as simple as a hug can truly make a difference.



    How it all started: (taken from FreeHugsCampaign.org)

    "I'd been living in London when
    my world turned upside down and I'd had to come home. By the time my
    plane landed back in Sydney, all I had left was a carry on bag full of
    clothes and a world of troubles. No one to welcome me back, no place to
    call home. I was a tourist in my hometown.

    Standing
    there in the arrivals terminal, watching other passengers meeting their
    waiting friends and family, with open arms and smiling faces, hugging
    and laughing together, I wanted someone out there to be waiting for me.
    To be happy to see me. To smile at me. To hug me.

    So I
    got some cardboard and a marker and made a sign. I found the busiest
    pedestrian intersection in the city and held that sign aloft, with the
    words "Free Hugs" on both sides.

    And for 15 minutes,
    people just stared right through me. The first person who stopped,
    tapped me on the shoulder and told me how her dog had just died that
    morning. How that morning had been the one year anniversary of her only
    daughter dying in a car accident. How what she needed now, when she
    felt most alone in the world, was a hug. I got down on one knee, we put
    our arms around each other and when we parted, she was smiling.

    Everyone has problems and for sure mine haven't compared. But to see
    someone who was once frowning, smile even for a moment, is worth it
    every time." -- Juan Mann

Comments (7)

  • You're the reason why I posted the video on my site.  I hope this video spreads and brings the same happiness it brought to me to others.

  • The hospital admin's have the vid link blocked out, but it's 1:17am and I still have another case...I want a hug =/.

  • you come with a letter of rec from Big Brother, who has a keen eye for picking out good people.

    hugs are nice, though most asian males are too homophobic to give each other hugs. and as for my brother, well, we're not close enough for me to actually hug him. sometimes i wish we were closer, but i get too irked by his attitude towards life and people.

  • i saw this guy on Oprah!!  it made me think there may just be good people out there still

  • You can't wrap love in a box, but you can wrap a person in a hug.

    :)

  • beautifully written.

    your banner is so cute! i love!

  • yay~ u found me and i found u! ^_^  yes, i outfit was like a bathing suite -_-

    i will c u soon! = )

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories